Two College Fishing Teams DQed at National Championship

Major League Fishing (MLF) announced updated results from the 2024 Abu Garcia College Fishing Presented by YETI National Championship at Lake Toho after two teams were disqualified.

Following the conclusion of the event, evidence was presented to MLF Tournament Director Kevin Hunt that the University of Montevallo team of Brandon Berry and Hunter Bright, as well as the Dallas Baptist University team of Braxon Hightower and Luke Wenger, had violated rule No. 12, which states the following:

“Alabama rigs and similar umbrella-type rigs are limited to a maximum of five wires with a maximum of five spinners, five lures and three hooks (single or treble) unless state regulations are more restrictive, in which case state regulations prevail.”

As a result of the violations, each team’s catch during both days of the weather-shortened event was disqualified.

The University of Montevallo team of Berry and Bright finished third in the event and were slated to advance to the 2024 Toyota Series Championship to compete as co-anglers for a shot at winning a $33,500 Phoenix 518 Pro with a 115-horsepower outboard. As a result of this disqualification, the University of Montevallo team of Nicholas Dumke and Easton Fothergill move from fourth place into the third-place spot and will advance to the 2024 Toyota Series Championship to compete as co-anglers.

“This is tragic for both teams who inadvertently violated the rule,” said Kevin Hunt, MLF Tournament Director. “However, we have an obligation to our anglers and the sport to enforce the rules, in letter and intent, without exception. We encourage all our anglers to know and understand the rules for each circuit and tournament they participate in and to adhere to those rules to ensure a quality tournament.”

Updated standings for the top 10 teams on Lake Toho are:

  1. Adrian College – Braylon Eggerding and Lucas Washburn, both of Grand Rapids, Mich., 10 bass, 42-4, $43,500
  2. Campbellsville University – Carter Doren of Las Vegas, Nev., and Ryan Lachniet of Gum Spring, Va., 10 bass, 42-3, $33,500
  3. University of Montevallo – Nicholas Dumke and Easton Fothergill, both of Grand Rapids, Minn., 10 bass, 38-9, $3,000
  4. Emmanuel University – Robert Miller of Savannah, Ga., and John Micheal Ortman of Douglas, Ga., 10 bass, 38-4, $2,000
  5. Florida Gateway College – Bryson O’Steen of Live Oak, Fla., 10 bass, 37-3, $1,000
  6. University of Montevallo – Neal Braddy of Ailey, Ga., and Merritt Arnold of Watkinsville, Ga., 10 bass, 37-0, $1,000
  7. Carson-Newman University – Ben Cully of Rockwall, Texas, and Hayden Gaddis of Seymour, Tenn., 10 bass, 36-8, $1,000
  8. Tarleton State-Stephenville – Garett Cadenhead of Fort Worth, Texas, and Jared Mizell of Pearland, Texas, 10 bass, 36-3, $1,000
  9. Adrian College – Gerald Brumbaugh of Martinsburgh, Penn., and Mitchell Straffon of Fenton, Mich., 10 bass, 35-0, $1,000
  10. University of North Alabama – Dylan Nutt and Carter Nutt of Nashville, Tenn., 10 bass, 34-12, $1,000

For complete details and updated tournament information, visit