U.S. Open Bass Fishing Tournament This Week

The product recommendations on our site are independently chosen by our editors. When you click through our links, we may earn a commission. 

Via WON BASS communications

Noted as one of the toughest, yet most “just” fishing tournaments in the world, the WON Bass Nitro Boats / Mercury U.S. Open bass fishing tournament will kick off  Monday September 9  on Lake Mead, in the desert outside Las Vegas. Once again, the Costa See What’s Out There Live show will be presented by Costa Sunglasses throughout the entirety of the three day event.

In its 31st year, the U.S. Open has proven to be an event that anyone has the potential to win because of the fact that Lake Mead presents anglers with the opportunity to catch fish in a variety of ways. Lake Mead also is the kind of fishery that gives few anglers a true home field advantage.

The desert conditions also present challenges to the anglers and their equipment. Past events have featured days eclipsing 100 degrees and afternoon monsoons that drop temperatures dramatically, bring high winds and torrential downpours to the event.

Winning the event is no easy task, and being the last angler perched atop the Costa See What’s Out There Hot Seat  on Wednesday  will be an angler who has earned his trophy and one year reign as the U.S. Open Champion.

The field of 142 Pro anglers and their AAA partners once again feature some of the premier names in bass fishing. The WON Bass Nitro Boats / Mercury U.S. Open gathers the best anglers from the Western United States, as well as some of the legendary names in bass fishing history.

Included in the field this year are past U.S. Open champions; FLW Tour and Bassmaster Elite Series winners, Bassmaster Anglers of the Year and Bassmaster Classic Champions. The 31st WON Bass Nitro Boats / Mercury U.S. Open and the Costa See What’s Out There Live Coverage is sure to provide competitors and viewers plenty of fireworks throughout the three day event.

The WON Bass Nitro Boats / Mercury U.S. Open takeoff will occur at Callville Bay Marina  on Monday,  Tuesday  and  Wednesday  beginning at  5:45AM, with daily weigh-ins starting at  2:00PM. Following the event’s conclusion  on Wednesday, a champion will be crowned at Boulder Station Casino the final evening of the event.

The WON Bass Nitro Boats / Mercury Marine U.S. Open See What’s Out There Live Webcasts presented by Costa Sunglasses will begin with a pregame show from the Boulder Station Casino after the Sponsor Showcase and mandatory partner pairing meeting; the live pregame show will beginSunday  Night at  5:30PM.

Daily event coverage will begin following tournament take off with hourly updates at  8:00AM,  9:00AM,10:00AM and 11:00AM  each day, followed by weigh-in coverage beginning at  2:00PM  and finally a6:00PM  post game show; all show times are Pacific Standard Time. .

The WON Bass Nitro Boats / Mercury Marine U.S. Open See What’s Out There  Webcasts  presented by Costa Sunglasses can be accessed by visiting  www.wonbass.com, or directly at the  event page of the 2013 The WON Bass Nitro Boats / Mercury Marine U.S. Open.

Field List:

Ray Arbesu

Raymond Archer

Aaron Leon

Aaron Martens

Andy Manahl

Ben Byrd

Bill Brown

Bill Ruehle

Billy Hines

Billy O’Shinn

Billy Snyder

Bobby Lanham

Brent Becker

Brett Hite

Brett Leber

Byron Velvick

Chester Baxter

Chris Bozarth

Chris Dixon

Chris Studinger

Claude Sims

Clay Lippincott

Clayton Meyer

Clifford Pirch

Clyde Evans

Cody Compton

Craig Miller

Dave Wendrich

David Kemper

David Patrick

David Peltier

David Valdivia

Derek Yamamoto

Devin McDonald

Dick Watson

Dorne Soto

Dr. Randy Estrada

Ed Arledge

Ed Shaver

Ernie Stumpf

Gabe Bolivar

Garrett Howrad

Garrett Lorenzen

Gary Boyd

Gary Dobyns

Gary Pinholster

Gary Robbins

George Kramer

Gerald Kimzey

Guy Savidan

Jamie Cyphers

Jamie Shaw

Jason Borofka

Jason Burchfield

Jay Wright

Jeff Klicka

Jigs Benn

Joe Raftery

Joe Uribe Jr.

John Browning

John Demonet

John Mackey

John Morrow

John Murray

John O’Brian

John Perkins

John Weissfuss

Johnny Johnson

Josh Rhodes

Justin Hanold

Justin Kerr

Keith Beever

Keith Ferlanie

Ken Phillips

Ken Whalen

Kenichi Tanaka

Kevin Caruso

Kevin Norling

Kevin Stewart

Kevin Wiggins

Klayton Belden

Kyle Grover

Marco Valdez

Mark Poe

Marvin Barellano

Matt Massey

Matt Shura

Max Baurer

Melvin Williams

Michael McFarland

Mike Brillhart

Mike Caruso

Mike Folkestad

Mike Lavallee

Mike Phua

Morizo Shimizu

Neil Campbell

Neil Flores

Nick Young

Oscar Torrado

Patrick Whitaker

Paul Brockman

Paul Hodges III

Pete Marino

Philip Roesener

Phillip Dutra

Randy Blauket

Randy Cnota

Rich Tauber

Rick Clunn

Rick Mason

Ricky Shabazz

Robert Jenks

Robert Schoessler

Ron Hammett

Roy Hawk

Rusty Brown

Scott Wingo

Sean Coffey

Sean Stafford

Shane Moline

Shaun Bailey

Shawn Lee

Stephen Patek

Stephen Pike

Steve Gibson

Steve Molinari

Thomas Wennerlund

Todd Herman

Todd Woods

Tom Pryor

Tommy Jonovich

Tony Lain

Travis Richards

Trevor Young

Trey Campbell

Ty Sandefer

Vern Ridgway

Vince Genarro

Vu Au

Wade Strelic

Zack Elrite


Bass Fishing Hall of Fame logo
© Wired2fish, Inc.